Heather Antonelli

Haute n the Kitchen & The Brooklyn Suppers

Barnes & Noble, Fashion Island, Newport Beach

The Brooklyn Suppers has been published since April 5th! Wow, how fast was that?!

If you haven’t been keeping up lets recap the past few months.

The Brooklyn Suppers was published on April 5th after a very long 2 .5 yrs in the process. I won’t share with you all the pain and suffering I went through from June 2019 to April 5th, 2022. Covid didn’t help for sure. Just as my books were printed and ready to ship Covid hit. The books were printed in Malyasia and just like so many others we waited for the cargo to finally ship with all the backlog of containers.

Alas the books arrived and we made ready to get the press materials out as soon as possible. From mid March to April 5th we were busy receiving the books and working on the press materials for the launch. I won’t say that the book promotion period was smooth and successful. Actually it was just the opposite. I won’t go into details mainly because it so upsets me. Lets just say promises made by my publisher fell very very very short of what was told that would be done for my promotion. Just one tiny example, my publishing team sent a detailed list of all the bookstores, bloggers, reviewers, local media, newspapers, radio and magazines that they were going to contact them 3x over the coming month. When my launch date arrived (April 5th), not one single outreach on their part was confimed. NOT ONE.

I take a deep breath. Then I myself contaced everyone on the pitch list. Guess what, I received dozens of replies and confirmations to carry or promote the book.

In the end, I am sort of glad it turned out like that. No, I won’t use Mascot for my future books but it did force me to get out there and hustle the books which was not only educational but successful. Oh, and I am not done yet. This is just the beginning!

If you have a favorite local bookstore please let me know and I can contact them with details of getting copies of the book.

In happier news I had my first Barnes and Noble book signing on Saturday June 25th! BN at Fashion Island, Newport Beach did an wonderful job of organizing it and they had my table right in the front door! Thank you so much @bnnewportbeach for a great event. #bnnewportbeach A huge thank you to all the friends that attended. I was taken by surprise by the support!

So now its back to the grind on social media and contacting bookstores around the world to buy my books. I have had a few super surprises in contacting some bookstores I have loved all over the world. My favorite bookstore in Paris, Shakespeare & Co, wrote me back! They don’t actually buy cookbooks outside of France but hey they took the time to write. Tres Cool! I got myself into the New York Public Library as well as my local library here in Newport Beach.

Just in case you didn’t know, you can go to almost any bookstore in your town and have them order copies direct to them.

I am still pounding the pavement out here but its fun!

I think the coolest thing that has happened with the book launch was my daughters response. She was going around telling all her little friends and anyone else that she ran across saying that her Mommy was in Barnes and Noble. She dressed up for the event and proudly sat beside me during the signing. That alone makes my book succesful if I don’t sell another copy. (Although it would be nice to sell some more đŸ˜‰

Stay tuned for more promotions, tell friends and family. Buy early books for the holidays season this year! If you buy through Facebook you can get a signed book. You can also purchase books straight from me.

Email me – heather@hautenthekitchen.com

Thanks for all the love and support over the past few months. Time to hit the pavement again selling books!

Categories: Eat

Leave a comment