Haute n the Kitchen

Entertaining Inspired by my Travels & Traditions

I can’t even address the fact that its August 8th and I am just now writing about it being Summertime here in NYC. I am taking the European perspective on this and saying that Summer really only arrives in August. Play along with me, won’t you?

I could go into a lengthy diatribe about all the wonderful things I have filled my last few months with from vanilla ice cream with sprinkles, street fairs and BBQs to long runs in the parks and lazy days at the beach. I will spare you the details and rather take you on a photographic walk back into May, June and July.

Memorial Day Menu

Memorial Day BBQ Menu – Arugula, Blood Orange, Pomegranates, Candied Pecans, Red Onion Honey Soy Vinaigrette

I kicked off the Summer with a BBQ in my garden.

Vinho Verde in the Garden

Vinho Verde in the Garden

Then there was a party in a friends garden!

A Gypsy Faire Tent covered the affair!

A Gypsy Faire Tent covered the affair!

There were a few lazy Saturdays with fresh farmers market coffee, flowers and a good read…

Summer Sundays!

Summer Sundays!

Next I whisked off to India for 10 days of work where I was pleasantly inspired by vibrant colors, large than life prints and tantalizing textiles. Extra bag home? Yes indeed.

Nearly scraped this wallpaper off at Good Earth to carry home!

Nearly scraped this wallpaper off at Good Earth to carry home!

Soft Summer Quilts in gorgeous prints

Soft Summer Quilts in gorgeous prints

My stash of Summer accessories!

My stash of Summer accessories!

 

Soft Summer Quilts in gorgeous prints

Soft Summer Quilts in gorgeous prints

Nearly scraped this wallpaper off at Good Earth to carry home!

Nearly scraped this wallpaper off at Good Earth to carry home!

 

Soft Summer Quilts in gorgeous prints

Soft Summer Quilts in gorgeous prints

I was barely a minute home before I headed down South to GA to play Chef for a Farm to Table Dinner at The Martyn House in Ellijay GA. I fed chickens, picked veggies from the garden, swam in ponds, ran on wooded trails, noshed on peaches & roast corn and watched fireflies dance in the evening meadows while swinging on the back porch. You can take the girl out of the South…but ya can’t take the South of the girl.

42 Guests, 5 Courses all under a Gypsy Faire Tent

42 Guests, 5 Courses all under a Gypsy Faire Tent

 

Me playing farm hand. Wellies in the Garden

Me playing farm hand. Wellies in the Garden

 

IMG_7678

Back in the big city, it got a bit hot and having spent an afternoon laboring in and out of glamorous stores shopping for everything and nothing…I stopped being so Sex in the City and went back to being six in the Summer. Ice Cream and the sprinkles were a must as well as my new strappy sprinkly sandals.

Summer means Sprinkles & Sandals

Summer means Sprinkles & Sandals

Then there was day recovering from shopping on a breezy beach. 71428_10201766436743868_286364363_n That pretty much catches you up on the highlights of the Summer thus far. Its nice being back in Brooklyn after a hectic  June in India and the BIG road trip South in July. I took a long stroll with Ms. Sula (who misses the meadows and farm dogs) down to Red Hook last weekend to watch the cruise ships headed off to the Caribbean. It was a beautiful day and reminded of all the good things in my life and in my NYC. Some run away from the city in the Summer. I think it’s a magical time to be here.

Cruise Ship. Puffy Clouds. Sunshine. Sails. Smiles.

Cruise Ship. Puffy Clouds. Sunshine. Sails. Smiles.

Someone else is enjoying Summer too!

Rolling in the Green Grasses of Summer

Rolling in the Green Grasses of Summer

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

