Haute n the Kitchen

Entertaining Inspired by my Travels & Traditions

Cha Cha Chile!

Where has my sweet November gone? Only one more day? How could this be? It was a whirlwind to say the least. Let’s recap.

I think I have celebrated 8 birthdays (including my own which lasted from the night before and into the next night), found a new apartment, signed a lease, gave my life savings away (#whyNYersdontmove), had an indulgent Thanksgiving with new and old friends, threw an amazing Supper Club for 13 guests last Saturday; and find myself now buried under packed boxes as I face my move on Thursday, December 1st. My boots need a resole with all that running around being a social butterfly.

Need to rest. Relax. Bond with my sofa and my dog, who might have gotten packed into on of the boxes in my feverish packing today. It’s not going to happen until after the move, I know. However I cooked one last meal in the kitchen tonight as the boxes rose around me. I cooked something warm, homey, spicy and energy boosting for the long move ahead. Tomorrow its going to be Thai takeout for sure.

Roasted Chili, Eggplant, Onion over Whole Wheat Pasta (or Quinoa)

1 Small Eggplant, diced

3 Whole Antillais Caribbean Chiles (can use you fav chile also), sliced thinly

1 Scallion, sliced thinly

Olive Oil

S&P

Balsamic Vinegar

Whole Wheat Pasta or Black Quinoa

A few medium size capers

Parmigiano Reggiano Cheese

This could not be easier which is why I made it. A bit dizzy from the packing.

Ready to Roast

Put the chopped veggies in a roasting pan, drizzle with olive oil and some balsamic vinegar with a good grind of salt & pepper. Roast at 450 degrees until soft under your fork.

Boil the pasta or quinoa. Drain.

Ala Pasta

Pour veggies over the grains or pasta.

Ala Quinoa

Shave fresh Parmigiano Reggiano over the top.

Sprinkle on a few medium size capers.

Sprinkle with herbs de Provence.

Its got a kick so modify the chile portion if you don’t want to sniffle with snoffing.

Back to the boxes. I promise to write very soon about this past weekends Supper Club! It was divine!!

Saturdays Supper Sentiments

Organizing the pics now and then…yeah…back to the boxes.

Leave a Reply

