Haute n the Kitchen

Entertaining Inspired by my Travels & Traditions

Soups On

I woke to a crisp cool gorgeous November morning today. Sula was snoring away, so I stole a few more minutes, snuggled under my duvet, before she would wake and bark her demand to go on a walk. I thought about how it would be waking up in my new apartment next month. I imagined the sunlight streaming in from my back wall of glass windows. I thought of the kitchen. The kitchen of my dreams. Now a reality.

Haute Kitchen

That got me thinking about what I would cook in that kitchen. Winter is coming so I imagine its going to be a lot of my favorite food for awhile…SOUP. With that thought, I decided to make Butternut Squash Soup today. However, I was craving something spicy so I took squash soup to a new sexier version of itself with lots of spice and sass.

Spiced Butternut Squash Soup

1 Medium Size Butternut Squash

1 Red Onion, Rough Chopped

4 Garlic Cloves, Whole

1 Tbsp. Olive Oil

1 Tsp. Cumin Seeds

1 Tsp. Red Chili Powder (or flakes)

1 Tbsp. Red Chili Paste

6 Cups Low Sodium Vegetable Broth

1/2 Cup hazelnuts, Rough Chopped

4 Strips Prosciutto

1/4 Cup Maple Syrup

1 Dollup Creme Fraiche

Peel the skin off the squash, scoop out seeds and rough chop into small chunks. Spread squash out over a roasting pan with a glug of olive oil, salt, pepper and some chili powder and roast at 475 degrees for about 40 minutes until soft. 

Butternut Bliss

Meanwhile in a heavy bottom pot add a glug of olive oil, the red onion, garlic cloves, cumin seeds, chili paste and saute over medium heat until onions are browned. Add the roasted squash when ready and give a good stir. Add the stock, stir well and let cook over medium heat for about 20 minutes to meld the flavors. 

Flavor Makers

Using a handheld blender, puree the soup. Return to heat and season to taste. 

In a small saute pan add the hazelnuts and 1/2 tsp. maple syrup. Over high heat toast the hazelnuts. Remove and cool. Brush the prosciutto strips with maple syrup and broil til crispy. 

Fill a beautiful bowl with soup. Top with a dollup of creme fraiche (or yoghurt), garnish with hazelnuts and crumbled prosciutto. 

Smooth & Creamy w/a little crunchy topping

Savour the sassy spicy squash soup slowly.

One thought on “Spicy Squash Soup

  1. Courtney Bushway says:

    Sounds amazing and warm. Can’t wait to try it myself.
    Also, congratulations on the new kitchen and apartment. Great news!!

Leave a Reply

