Haute n the Kitchen

Entertaining Inspired by my Travels & Traditions

Dreamy Vision

Another High Point Furniture Market has come and gone. If I told you how many years I have been going to Market, you would first gasp. Then, you would conclude that I am old. Well, that’s what the “first time to market new hire” said anyway. I think she actually used the word “ancient”. While its true I am certainly a veteran in the industry, ancient I will never be!

Sun soaked warm days fueled buyers and everyone seemed much more optimistic about the future of furniture. Guess I will be back then. BoBo Intriguing Objects looked as amazing as always! Here are a few sneak peeks of the showroom.

Industrial Office

Loving the all metal bookcases and desk. Industrial chic is still in…

Stylish Salon

Gypsy Faire Tents were back at market this go ’round as well! We had one parked at the front door of Bobo and it really set the stage. Three others graced the courtyard at Market Square and as usual…there was a lot of drooling going on. It makes me proud to see how people react to the tents. A woman told me it transported her immediately back to childhood and a world of fantasy and wonder. Not bad for a tent lol!

Gypsy Grand Entrance

We had the honor of being the backdrop for the DStripped Runway Show on Monday night. Two tents were used in the show and Wow! Clinton Allen, founder of DStripped, designed the show around “upcycled” textiles from North Carolina mills. The fashion was as fabulous as the tents and we can’t wait to work with them again.

Upcycling Runway Show

Check out the magazine, on racks at Barnes & Nobles. Clinton has really given fashion a fresh face and perspective. He manages to merge art, furniture, fashion and food in a refreshing and powerful new way.

On Stands now

On an absolutely totally unrelated note…I wanted to share my Apple Tart recipe from Supper Club this month. Everyone raved. I have passed on the recipe and their guests gave the same jaw dropping reviews. It’s not my recipe. I totally hijacked it from Bon Apetit. There I admit it. I did use different apples than the recipe called for and I gave it a dollup of clotted cream rather than ice cream or whipping cream. So technically, it’s a whole new recipe. Geez, I am starting to sound like my Chinese furniture factories lol.

http://www.bonappetit.com/recipes/2009/10/crispy_braeburn_apple_and_almond_sheet_tartFor the recipe!

Apple Tart Nom Nom

With just days away from Halloween, its time to focus on another F word. FUN! Looking forward to a spoooky weekend with friends, who I probably won’t be able to recognize. Dressing up? What are you going to be? I can’t give mine away just yet but I will leave you with a hint… “twinkle toes”. Can ya guess?

Leave a Reply

