Haute n the Kitchen

Entertaining Inspired by my Travels & Traditions

Anne & Jay

 EXPLORE, Wedding Style

Without so much as a pause to reflect, hands down the BEST of this week was seeing my best friend, Anne, marry the love of her life. There are only a few moments in our lives that we witness real love. Palpable love. A connection between two souls so strong that everyone they encounter breaks into smile and feels their own heartstrings being strummed by the love in the air.

Congrats!

The wedding was beautiful, exactly as Anne had imagined and went off with only one hitch. Them, hitched!

Oh there was the usual stuff like,  pouring rain for two days before the outdoor garden wedding. Yes, it magically cleared mid-day Saturday and was sunny and dry by the 5pm start time. There was the “oops” of the hotel that booked the bridal suite next door to her parents room. Oops was fixed. That’s what makes weddings the stuff of great film. I am still laughing about Bridesmaids, recently released.

Anne Hensley!

As I watched Anne and her new husband, Jay, sway to their first song, not only did their world stop for a few minutes. My world stopped a bit too. I felt a happiness for Anne that I have never before. I knew I was losing a little bit of her but more than that, I was gaining them as a family. I also suddenly, strangely, felt the presence of my Grandmother, who passed last Saturday. Was she saying, don’t give up on love? Was she letting me know that this the fullness of my heart at that moment for Anne, could also be for me? Maybe she was just wanted to see Anne get married too. It was reassuring to know that she is and will be with me, even now that she has gone to join and once again be with her soul mate.

EAT

Prune

Last Wednesday, I finally had dinner at PRUNE in the LES.  I read “Blood Bone & Butter” in July, the autobiography of the chef owner and have really been wanting to go to the restaurant. I have to say, it was not what I expected out of the gate. I was…disappointed. The decor seemed, well, less than I had imagined and the teeny metal bar stool I was perched on seemed to oddly fit the even teenier bar. A few reviews and mentions had said that dinner at the bar was where it was at, so there I was, looking somewhat jealous at the cute two tops within arms reach.

My dinner date arrived and we started with the prosciutto, fresh figs and pistachios. Always a winner.

For dinner we ordered the roasted quail over arugula. To be honest, mine is better. I make a mean quail. It was also too much on the rare for my taste. However, the roasted eggplant with yoghurt and fresh mint was divine. I still am not sure if the eggplant was rubbed with anchovy paste before roasting, but I suspect so. I also loved that the check was served with two rough chunks of dark chocolate. Divine.

Great foodie read!

I left my umbrella there, so I am taking that as a sign that I need to go back and give Prune another chance. I will sit at the cute 2 top by the open windows and order the bone marrow. Two out of the 3 dishes that passed by were this, so it must be the “thing”. But it’s always the BEST to check off another NYC “must eat” restaurant off the list.

Have you been?

ENTERTAIN

Love the Mint Accents

Brooke Gianetti, of the blog Velvet and Linen, never ceases to inspire and soothe me all at the same time with her design work. She magically melds modern with old world in such a tasteful way by using the magic of “Patina”. She has even just recently released a book called Patina Style! She shops alot at Love Train Antiques and Bobo Intriguing Objects, giving me a little insight to her methodologically.

Here are a few of her kitchen inspirations for oh so chic entertaining.

Industrial Country Chic

and even a modern sense of style…

My Style!

This week has felt like a month. A funeral and a wedding in one week is well, a bit too much of a slice of life! LOL. Ebb and flow was more like quick erosion tis week.

Happy to be home all of next week! Yay. Ready to reconnect with Brooklyn and take long walks with Sula. The kitchen is definitely getting back in action this week too. Already dreaming up some delicious dishes inspired by autumn ingredients.

Sweet Sunday Dreams,

H

One thought on “Sunday Best, 9/25/11

  1. Janice says:

    Undeniably believe that which you stated. Your favorite
    reason appeared to be on the web the simplest thing to
    be aware of. I say to you, I definitely get irked while
    people consider worries that they just do not know
    about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top as well as defined out the whole thing without having
    side-effects , people could take a signal. Will likely be
    back to get more. Thanks

Leave a Reply

