Haute n the Kitchen

Entertaining Inspired by my Travels & Traditions

Sopa de Sevilla

I love Spain. Why? How much time do you have? Culture, Fashion, Local Music Scene, Mountains, Amazing Beaches…um…FOOD!

Rich layered flavors, smoky paprika, salty spicy chorizo, cheeses that will make you weep and lets not forget about the legendary JAMON! Did I just drool on my blog? Shameful.

I am not in Spain. Sorry to let ALL of us down. I do have a good friend who is there right now that likes to daily rub it in, I mean remind, me of how amazing it is. Thanks Neandar.

However, I am getting ready for a big bash on Saturday? What? Who? Well, all about me silly! My first birthday in Brooklyn, in NYC. Wow. Has to be marked, don’t you agree?

I, but of course, am cooking for my guests. I feel sure I would be struck down if I did not, and quite honestly – what is better than feeding your friends!

So without adieu, I give you the first course of the evening – shhhh don’t tell them.

Sopa De Sevilla e Good Ole Southern Cornbread with a Kick!

This could not be easier.

Stove Flame Roasted Poblanos

Flame Roasted Poblano Peppers – Turn on the gas over one stove top hob. Place the washed and dry poblano directly over a medium high heat. Turn every minute or so until entirely roasted. Place in a bowl with a Serran wrap cover. Repeat for all peppers. *I am cooking for 50 and used 4, fyi. When all are roasted, use a paper towel to remove the charred skin, leaving a divine roasted poblano.

Ready to Peel

 

Make cornbread mix as instructed on back of bag. No need to reinvent the basics. However add, 2 tbsp of sugar and 2 tbsp of maple syrup to the mix. I am a sweet Southern girl ya know! Then finely chop the poblanos and add them as well.

Roasted Poblano Cornbread Bites

Using a mini muffin tin, rub each muffin section with olive oil – a healthy healthy rub. Fill 1/2 way up and bake at 450 degrees for about 10 minutes. They should be crunchy on the bottom from the amount of olive oil you generously alloted. Si?

Now the sopa! (This is a recipe for 10 main courses or 50 tea glass servings)

Roasted Red Peppers

In a heavy bottom soup pot  add a serious glug of olive oil. To that add 1.5 cups of chopped sweet yellow onion. Sweat the onion and add 1tsp of salt.

Add 4 cups roasted red peppers, rough chopped. Add 2 tbsp. smoked paprika. Stir, let flavors meld.

Sopa Start

Add 4 cups roasted tomatoes, whole with juices. (No, you do not have to roast yourself. Go ahead and buy the canned good Italian roasted peppers and toms. I won’t tell).

The Secret Ingredients

In a mortar, or with a knife, fine chop then mash 5 cloves of garlic. Oh Yeah! Vamps beware! Then add 2 tsp cumin seed and further grind to a paste. Add to the soup. Stir, meld those flavors.

Then add 1 cup of rough ground day old breadcrumbs. Stir to incorporate. Cook down another 10 minutes. Taste for flavor. Maybe more paprika if you want more heat. I do.

Smoky Spanish Soup

Then add 2 cups of unsalted chix stock. Incorporate. Using your hand-held blender or God forbid a real blender in small batches, blend the soup to desired consistency. Taste for seasoning!

Rush to your local Italian deli. You don’t have one? Poor soul. Ok, just go buy pitted Spanish green olives. Grill them. Yes I said grill them. In a grill pan is best. If you don’t have, a gas grill of course works, just a real Martha move to grill up some olives but I believe in you.

Pour the soup into Moroccan tea glasses 3/4 full. On a skewer add one Poblano cornbread muffin and top off with grilled olive.

Spanish Sopa Starter

Let the love begin. Sip Slowly and dip that little cornbread nugget into the soup each time you bite into the the grilled olive.

yeah, I know.

Leave a Reply

