Haute n the Kitchen

Entertaining Inspired by my Travels & Traditions

Heather plays Holi

I have never been here (yes, STILL in India) for HOLI. HOLI is the “Festival of Colors” and takes place on the last full moon day of the lunar month. The day prior bonfires are lit to honor the story of Prahlad, who was carried into a fire by his demoness sister Holika, yet did not burn because of his devotion to Vishnu. How that story became associated with throwing paint at each other I will never know – but – what FUN it is!!

Holi Paint

We went out and bought some white kurtas at National Handloom (JC Penney of India) and then stopped by the market and picked up as many bags of “paint” as we could carry. Red, Yellow, Green and Pink paints are available in both liquid and powder form. The liquid form stains the skin thus making the term “red Indian” a hilarious private joke between me and me. 🙂

We celebrated Holi at the Ajit Bhawan in Jodhpur at a private Holi party. A word of advice – never show up late to a Holi party in completely white kurtas! Everyone in the garden turned and saw giant bull’s eyes. I was attacked from all sides! Holi is permission to be 10 again. You get extra points for sneak attacks, head bombs, full face contact and the ultimate spray down with the red paint! To really get the party going everyone drinks Bhang Lassi. This would be a milky drink that contains opium and hemp. (At least that is what I heard) 😉

Alice & Richard play Holi

I don’t know alot, but a day where you get to wear pajamas, throw paint at anyone and everyone, drink drugs and sit in the warm Indian sunshine, while the world just gets more and more colorful, is okay by me.

Darling Devraj

Festival of Colors!

After Holi it was back to work. A furniture factory sure loses its luster after playing Holi.

Holi on the inside 🙂

I am off to Singapore tomorrow (chewing lots of gum right now), so tonight I bid my farewell to Mother India! I thought I would share a few highs and lows of the past few weeks.

Sidewalk Cafe

I Love This

Do you want the good news or the bad news first? Let’s get the bad over with. In the past 7 days I… 😦

had my ATM card eaten by a cash machine –

watched the slow death of my 6 yr old camera –

got a mild case of Delhi belly (that can also be a positive on not gaining weight while travelling)

FIRED a furniture vendor ala Trump style!

Now the good news!

I heart Ambassadors

Dumbo

I …partied with a royal family.

I ate the most exotic food (boar pickle, anyone) in a palace. I got a new camera!  I got to see and share the smiles, shocks and wows of a first time visitor to India…my Brother 🙂

Little Bro

Namaste Ya’ll! See ya in Singapore.

2 thoughts on “Holi Heather!

  1. Heather says:

    So true! The perfect one for you. A little recap 🙂

  2. Little bro says:

    Well what a great first blog for me to read! You shoulda told me I have a great pic of me drinking bong!! I might have to follow you a little more often through this thing.

Leave a Reply

