Haute n the Kitchen

Entertaining Inspired by my Travels & Traditions

“And the time came when the risk to remain tight in a bud was more painful than the risk it took to blossom” – Anais Nin

December 31st 2009 11am

I sit here looking out at beautiful snowflakes falling on this last day of 2009. I truly cannot believe all that happened this year. It has been, without doubt, one of the most transformative years of my life. As I get ready to step into 2010 I think its important to bring the good things I have learned with me and to shed the things that hurt and hold me back.

So here’s the way I see it.

The snow today is a blanket to peacefully put 2009 to bed. The snow today is a fresh blank sheet. A fresh start.

Us

Just because it’s over, the good times will always be there as wonderful memories. Just because it’s over, doesn’t mean you stop loving. Just because it’s over, doesn’t mean you won’t still cry months later. Just because it’s over doesn’t mean you won’t love again. Smile again. Laugh again. (Oh & sometimes a cookie helps).

My Family

There is NOTHING more important in life than our relationships. Family. Friends. They carry you when you are too weak to carry yourself. They help you find your smile and your laugh when you are drowning in tears. They love you no matter what but will still call ya on your sh–!

Haute n the Kitchen Releases March 2009

Sharing your passion with others fills your heart and soul more than any JOB ever will. The release of my book in 2009 opened doors for me I never imagined I would walk through. The positive response it has received and the letters and emails from family, friends and strangers who cooked a recipe or a dinner party and found pleasure in my food is the greatest compliment I have ever received. KEEP IT HAUTE IN 2010!

Sula Green

My Sunshine

Sula was a gift from the all-knowing universe. She has been my emotional blanket, my sunshine. Sula means “sun” in Hindi and no name has been more fitting.

I am ALWAYS happy when planning a dinner party. More of that in 2010.

Xmas Dinner 09

Christmas Dinner 2009

Life unfolds in mysterious ways. One year ago my life was 100% different. Partner, work, city and home have ALL changed. However I will walk into 2010 with me. I am still me and why that seems like duh – it’s so important to never forget who you are.

Cape Town, SA

Travel. It changes you see the world, yourself, humanity and just about everything else. Cape Town South Africa March 2009 was my best trip of the year.  I met a woman I hadn’t seen in a while. Me.

You never know til you try! Who would have thought that I could fight a real bull, barefoot!

That’s pretty much the way I see it. I am going to ring in the new year tonight with old friends, new acquaintances and probably even a few strangers. It is NYC after all. Then, I am going to end the chapter called 2009.

Welcome to 2010! It’s a whole new story.

Thank you for reading my silly blog and supporting me in my efforts to share my passion for exotic travel, great food and inspired design. More to come in 2010!

xo

H

“Sometimes you just need to start again in order to fly” – Alicia Keys

Leave a Reply

