Haute n the Kitchen

Entertaining Inspired by my Travels & Traditions

Ornamental India

On the twelfth day of Christmas,
my true love sent to me
Twelve drummers drumming,
Eleven pipers piping,
Ten lords a-leaping,
Nine ladies dancing,
Eight maids a-milking,
Seven swans a-swimming,
Six geese a-laying,
Five golden rings,
Four calling birds,
Three French hens,
Two turtle doves,
And a partridge in a pear tree!

I can never make it through this Christmas carol without at some stage breaking out into uncontrollable giggles. It’s impossible! With my tongue-tied and all the birds showing up on wrong days, I usually throw in the towel just before the lords leap!

Leaping Lords!

While I am at it, lets just briefly discuss a few of these days. Please do not EVER send me 12 drummers drumming. I know the level of noise that just one adolescent drummer can make. 12, NO, not so much. This goes for the pipers too. I am dying to see 10 lords leaping! The reality will probably be a sad disappointment to my imagination, but still worth the effort. Please Santa. As for ladies dancing and milking it – yeah I have seen enough of that too. I love the peacefulness of the swans and sure, why not 5 golden rings! No calling birds please and do send over the French hens because I am so intrigued to see if they parle francais. If you give me doves, please forgive me when I let them go free and just the pear tree if you will, partridges are a bit scary unless as the main course. So with that out of my system…

Why a Pear Tree?

The song has inspired generations to come up with their own version of the 12 days of traditional merry-making and festivities, ending on January 5th with Epiphany. Sure hope I get mine this year!

12 days of cookies, 12 days of shoes, 12 days of cocktails, 12 days of must read books, 12 days of bands, 12 days of yoga, 12 days of breakfast in bed (yes please!), 12 days of sweet nothings, 12 days of inlaws (AHHHH!), 12 days of gifts and so on.

How about 12 Days of Peace. Now there’s a concept.

So, to add to the already impossibly long list of 12 Days of Christmas Themes, I contribute with ….

(cue the drummer boy)

“THE 12 DAYS OF HAUTE GIFTS”

You know I hate to be left out and since I just make mincemeat out of the song, I might as well be another fruitcake with a 12 List. (Wow, I just slipped into a big pile of Christmas cheesy-ness)

“On the 1st Day of Christmas, my true love gave to me –

A SIGNED COPY OF HAUTE N THE KITCHEN”

by Santa’s little kitchen helper, me 🙂

1st Day of Christmas

Free domestic shipping all month – so send me a message and get your copies in the mail today 🙂

Its gonna be a haute haute Christmas.


Leave a Reply

