Haute n the Kitchen

Entertaining Inspired by my Travels & Traditions

Fall Fete @ Bilotta

Fall Fete @ Bilotta

Last Thursday night, Oct. 8th, was my first fabulous cooking event at Bilotta Kitchens, in their NYC showroom. So many of you have been emailing and asking how the event went, so I thought I would share a few pics from the event as well as the menu.

If you attended and have more or better pics, please send these my way! It’s hard to take pics when you cookin’ it up for 60+ ravenous guests 🙂

My theme for the night was “Fall Fete” and the menu was inspired by all my favorite veggies in the farmer’s market stalls right now. It also drew inspiration from the seasons colors, textures and noteworthy elements like falling leaves, pumpkins, tweeds, tartans and tall boots!

Fall Fete Table Setting

Fall Fete Table Setting

Fall Fete Dinner for Two

Fall Fete Dinner for Two

I spent the morning before the event at the Union Square Farmers Market. If you live in NYC, I do hope you utilize this amazing resource. It made my day, as most farmers markets tend to. Warm apple cider fueled me along as I shopped for my very long list of fruits & veggies. I even managed to find a mushroom guru for my wild mushroom risotto and a fantastic herb farm for lots of fresh herbage.

Union Square NYC

Union Square NYC

Shiitake

Shiitake

So after weighing myself down with many heavy market bags, I headed back to the Bilotta Kitchens where I prepped all the ingredients for the next days demonstration. Carrots, Celery, Mushrooms & Onions. I chopped 10 cups of raw red organic onions. This produced at least one years worth of tears and hands that still smell of onion (not kidding). Anyone have a good remedy for this?

Feeling pretty tired and ready for a long October’s sleep, I headed back to my little, let me say again, little, pieda terre. Just as I was beginning to flirt with my pillow, my MOM calls to say she is in a cab and WOW! has surprised me with a visit to come to the event. One cold shower later and we were off to dinner in the LES at a fantastic Italian Restaurant called Lavagna. Thanks MOM, you rock!

Woke early and off to the kitchens (well off to coffee on Broome St. first, to be honest)! Final preps and a few funny last minute panics, but of course. The oversight of having a blender to puree my butternut squash soup, sent Mom on a 20 block adventure to get a handheld blender for under $20. Sweet Success. A problematic Mac file and a more problematic Heather as a Mac & Kinkos user could have also cost us the game…but we pulled out a 4th qtr. hail mary.

The evening was perfect! Right Jill? Great crowd, great food, great wine and great hosts. The Bilottas are beyond lovely and I am so honored to be working with them. True story. Nobody choked on a quail bone. Nobody broke out in allergic hives and nobody complained to the chef. Ahhhh.. Thanks for all my friends and fam who showed up! xoxo Nic & Leah.

Ready Set Go

Ready Set Go

Butternut Squash Baked Apple Soup

Butternut Squash Baked Apple Soup

We missed you! But, its not the last. Mark your calenders, November 5th! The entire A&D Building hosts a Big Ole event sponsored by the NY Times. All showrooms are open and all the kitchen ones are cooking. Only the Bilotta Kitchen will be “haute”!

Menu:

Pumpkin Pancetta Tarts (Goat Cheese, Caramelized Red Onion, Pumpkin puree, spices all in a phyllo tart shell)

Butternut Squash, Baked Apple Soup (seasoned with nutmeg & allspice, a dash of curry and a splash of port)

Wild Mushroom Risotto (why is the rice purple they all asked?)

Roasted Quail Legs with Fig, Balsamic Port Reduction

Hazelnut shortbread Bites with a Nutella Dark Chocolate Spread.

Recipes upon Request. Some are in the book!

2 thoughts on “Bilotta Blog

  1. Heather says:

    Hi Lisa,

    Great to hear from you! Both recipes work great! I like to change things up every time I make a regular recipe. Keeps it fresh for me. Port or sherry works. The sherry adds more “sweet” to the soup and the port adds “weight”. I would add about a cup. If you add curry or allspice just make it a teaspoon as they are strong flavors.
    I do make my own stock but I am not religious about it. I like the “boxed” stock or bullion is fine as well.
    Thanks for trying the recipe!
    Heather

  2. Lisa Simmons says:

    Hi Heather,
    I spoke to you at Bilota, and loved the food. Yesterday, I tried your butternut squash soup recipe, and it was delicious. However, I have a couple of questions. In your handout, from which I took the recipe, you call for sherry, but don’t specify the amount. Also, in the above blog, you mention port, and allspice, and curry, also not in the ingredient list.

    How do you most prefer to make the soup? With port or sherry, and how much? Do you usually add curry and allspice, and in what amounts? Do you make your own chicken stock, or prefer canned or bullion stock?

    I love the addition of creme fraiche and pistachios. What a lovely touch.

    I hope all is going well for you, with your new cookbook!
    Many thanks,
    Lisa

Leave a Reply

