Haute n the Kitchen

Entertaining Inspired by my Travels & Traditions

Wild Shroom Rosemary Risotto

Wild Shroom Rosemary Risotto

Oh yeah sure now you read my blog! It takes me tempting you with drugs, like a common street corner dealer, to finally get you here. Oh well it worked didn’t it? What were you expecting exactly? A) Some wild tales of shroom experiences  B) A field guide as to where to buy the best hallucinogenic shrooms or C) a suggestion as to how to spend your Labor Day.

Red, Tilted One

Red, Tilted One

Unfortunately it is just not that exciting. I went on a hike in the mountains today with all the dogs and my iphone. Hey, its important to be able to call someone just before you are about to malled by a bear. Well the lack of bears, snakes (saw a big earlier this week) or mountain lions gave me a chance just to enjoy nature. Nature was in my face and I do mean literally. I didn’t need lunch after the hike since I had eaten probably 10 spider webs along the way. ICK!  So, after the 10th web I started walking, head down. Wow, the forest floor is a busy place. Ant super highways, beetle crossings, log road blocks and avalanches of leaves. Among all this action, standing proud and dotting the landscape were hundreds of SHROOMS!

Small Village of Saffron Ruffly Ones

Small Village of Saffron Ruffly Ones

You name it, I saw it. I have no idea what they all are called but there were ruffled ones, red ones, orange ones, cone ones, round ones, super model ones and fat pudgy ones, spotted, pimpled and moldy ones. You get the idea. While tempted to nibble a few of them just to see, I resisted as I knew the dogs could not carry me out of there or use the iphone.

Stack of Pancake Ones

Stack of Pancake Ones

What did happen is that I got hungry for shrooms! I love mushrooms. Shiitake are my favs. Portobellos are wonderful, meaty and rich. Oyster shrooms are brilliant in frittatas and chantrelles are divine in pasta with fresh herbs and cream. One of my most favorite places to use shrooms when cooking though is in risotto. Rich creamy risotto with wild mushrooms, fresh rosemary and fresh shaved parmesan reggiano, makes a perfect dinner party pasta course. For winter months I use red wine, red onion and rosemary with the shrooms which give the risotto heavier flavors. In the Spring and Summer I use white wine, shallots and chives or mint with them.

Fairy Bus Stop

Fairy Bus Stop

Recipe for this is in the book under the dinner party, “Apres Ski”. This recipe is the one you have been looking for to woo that special someone. The way to the heart is through the stomach and this risotto will have him or her shouting your name from the tops of tall buildings. Serious. Give it a try, just be ready for the consequences 😉

Shroomville

Shroomville

The pics are some of the varieties I found on the hike. Can you identify any? Should I bag some of these up and head down to the street corner? LOL 🙂

The Basic Shroom

The Basic Shroom

If you don’t have a copy of the book #1, shame on you go buy it and #2 leave a comment here and I will send it to you 😉

Leave a Reply

