Haute n the Kitchen

Entertaining Inspired by my Travels & Traditions

An Air of Autumn

An Air of Autumn

September 1st. For me, this date conjures up all kinds of romantic ideas about the season ahead of us. Long walks through a park on a warm sunshine filled day that has just enough of a bite to the air that I need my caramel colored cashmere. Leaves in hues of tangerine, russet, saffron & rose fall around me and my above-the-knee chocolate suede boots glide across them on my way to…a FOOTBALL game! Yes, the early days of Fall are all about football, a change of fashion and the first Fall Fetes.

Indian Spice Stall Inspires Fall

Indian Spice Stall Inspires Fall

While I do entertain all Summer, its different right? Barbecues, beach parties, pool parties and clam digs are wonderful and I embrace them all season with my flip flops, short shorts and fresh summer salads. However the arrival of Fall ushers back the season of “invitations by mail” fetes. A little more attention to attire, a more lavishly dressed table, richer warmer foods, the return to red wine and the spoils of Fall’s rich harvest. A cornucopia of roasted game, risottos, squash soups, root vegetable mash, dark leafy greens and apple everything! Ah yes.

An Apple A Day

An Apple A Day

The change of season also inspires the designer in me and I find myself drawn to knobby textures, tartans, tweeds, chocolate colored corduroy, butternut suedes and scarves! My neck is about to go into hibernation as it will be swathed in a scarf until spring’s first daffodil. All of these inspirations seem to appear in my dinner parties and my closet.

Table Textures

Table Textures

So I urge you, implore with you, strongly suggest to you – to throw your First Fall Fete! Make it a Football Fete, a Fall Fashion Fete, a Finally Cooler Weather Fete or a Favorite Friends Fete. I spent a chunk of my day today planning early Fall dinner party menus and I will pass these along in the coming weeks.

Fall's Color Palette

Fall's Color Palette

Invitation Idea

Invitation Idea

Do you feel it? That change in the air? Autumn Air. Football Air. Time for a Feast Air!

If you have my book your fete is done – check out the “Harvest” dinner party.

PS. My apologies to all you spelling & grammar perfectionists – WordPress does not find the French Fete, so no accent aigu 😉

Fall Fete, Maharaja Stye

Fall Fete, Maharaja Stye

A Gypsy Faire Tent Fete!

A Gypsy Faire Tent Fete!

Leave a Reply

