Haute n the Kitchen

Entertaining Inspired by my Travels & Traditions

No More Cukes! That’s it! I have said it. No apologies. Here I am on a gorgeous farm with an abundant, no over abundant, garden. Not to complain but we can barely keep up with the bounty.  By ‘”we” I mean yes even me. I guess its part of room and board, but they should know around here that my thumbs are not even vaguely green. I kill cactus, ok.  Hello?

Yet every morning before my coffee has even hit bottom I am called to “go picking”. Beans Beans Beans. Tomatoes out the whazooo, onions, potatoes potatoes (yes twice), garlic, herbs galore and CUKES to a NUKES level. I actually am beginning to think we could take down another country purely by Cuke!

I am a creative cook by all accounts, but this is definitely a test. Not only of my skill to make up 101 recipes using green beans, cukes, toms and taters (help, 101cookbooks!) but also, to not absolutely abhor all these ingredients by summers end. Right?

Final Cuke Recipe. I was inspired by @foodandstyle yesterday and thought I would give the cukes one last swan song.

Cool Cuke Soup

  • 3 Cukes, seeded
  • 1/2 Cup plain greek yoghurt
  • 1 Tbsp. Honey
  • 1/4 cup Fresh Mint leaves
  • 1 Habanero or jalapeno pepper, seeded & chopped
  • 1 Tsp Garlic
  • 1 Tbsp. Olive Oil
  • S&P to taste
  • 1/2 cup H2O
  • Put all ingredients into a blender. Puree til fine. 1 Minute.
  • Taste for S&P
  • Put in fridge to chill 2 hours.

Serve in a chilled bowl or glass. I went with a wine glass. A martini would also be fun. Garnish with a bit of chopped & seeded tomato and a sprig of fresh mint. I didn’t , but one could, add a dollop of creme fraiche.

Final Bon Apetit to the CUKE! NO More CUKES! Make Pickles, not War in the garden.

Cool Cuke Soup

Cool Cuke Soup

2 thoughts on “No More Cukes!

  1. picked some cukes for ya today…..

  2. Andrea Wong says:

    Good on you for growing so many veggies. I wish that I could say the same, although this summer (it’s winter here in New Zealand) I will be growing some tomatoes and basil. Now if only there was a buffalo mozarella tree, I’d be happy!

    And thanks for visiting the So D’lish site, I hope that you enjoyed it 🙂

Leave a Reply

