Haute n the Kitchen

Entertaining Inspired by my Travels & Traditions

Catch of 1 Day

Catch of 1 Day

Captain YoYo

Captain YoYo

Ok I know you have heard enough about my wonderful week in Baja, laying on beautiful beaches, swimming in pristine waters, paddle boarding my early mornings away, dining on gorgeous fresh fruit with just a squeeze of lime, dining on fish we caught just hours before lovingly marinated in garlic, olive oil, S&P, fresh herbs and grilled up to perfection. Was that a run on?

Anyway – I have one last food story to tell about everything I ate while in Baja. Yes, I am taking longer runs than usual, thank you and thank Baja. It is especially effective since I am running in 100+ degree weather, but I digress and regret nothing.

Carne Asada is all I have to say. Who knew that the best fishing guide in all of Las Ventanas also makes the best carne asada in town? Larry and Paige did.

All of the gorgeous dorado we caught was from early morning excursions out with Captain YoYo (for real) on his fishing boat. He knows just where all the lovely little plump sardines live for bait and then he knows just where the dorado hang out for their late morning social swim. Huge success everyday! While I cannot register a single complaint against all this divine fresh fish…deep down I was getting a hankering for some MEAT. Ya’ll know I like my beef and enough dorado is enough. So after a good five days of fish…Larry called YoYo for a night of carne asada. I was none too pleased.

YoYo showed up about 6 in the afternoon with his wife and daughter. His sweet as sugar wife makes all the “fixins” for the carne, except for the guac which Paige & Sage made over cocktails. I got the night off from kitchen duty. The grill fired up around 7 and YoYo began laying those gorgeous, marinated for hours and hours, pieces of beef on the grill. Oh, but not before he cleaned and seasoned the grill with one giant white onion! The sign of a real grill man. 😉 The other sign of a great grill man is the number of beers he can consume while grilling and I am going to say that YoYo is an expert griller 🙂

Carne Asada on the Grill

Carne Asada on the Grill

Cooking Fresh Tortillas

Cooking Fresh Tortillas

The meat was spectacularly tender, literally melting in your mouth. The marinade of salt and cayenne is just the right blend to tenderize the meat, which is skirt steak cut. Thinly sliced, it grills fast and has no time to lose flavor or tenderness.

After the meat was grilled, YoYo’s wife cooked the tortillas. You can buy “uncooked” tortillas in the market and you just grill them for a few seconds on each side to heat/cook them through before serving. I mentioned these lovelies in an earlier blog. They are crepe like. So, then its time to make your personal carne asada. First, the tortilla, then the meat and then…its all up to your personal taste. Me? Well, a bit of guac, a spoonful of pico de gallo, and some manchego cheese please! Then, given my penchant for all things hot and spicy, I give it all a healthy dose of serious hot sauce. A few of my favorites are below.

Haute Sauce!

Haute Sauce!

YoYo’s wife made these yummy little peppers too! They were not spicy and the marinade was a honey soy balsamic that had been reduced down and then baked with the peppers. I ate 5 and washed them down with a cold Pacifica.

Carne, my way!

Carne, my way!

Soy Balsamic Peppers

Soy Balsamic Peppers

Thank you YoYo! You gave us carne asada when we thought we could not eat one more bite of dorado 🙂

Leave a Reply

