Haute n the Kitchen

Entertaining Inspired by my Travels & Traditions

The Perfect Wake Up Call

The Perfect Wake Up Call

Uluwatu Bali
Uluwatu Bali
A Really Good Day

A Really Good Day

Volcanic Rock Pots

Volcanic Rock Pots

Panko Prawns

Panko Prawns

 

Tell me that waking up in this bed on a lazy sunny Sunday morning in Bali would not just be the perfect start to a day? I woke up this morning and before I opened my eyes I pretended just for a moment that this is the view I would see when I did open them.

A sloppy puppy lick on the face from Sula brought me back to reality and as I hesitantly opened my eyes…Bali slipped away. However I am lucky enough to have woke up in this bed, see this view and feel like an Indonesian Princess. Fresh jamba juice is delivered to your door along with Javanese coffee, warm milk, fresh sliced tropical fruits and pastries. Oh yes and champagne! What? That is a perfect Sunday morning – right?

This beautiful spot is in Uluwatu Bali, high up on the cliffs overlooking well, the sea as you can see. After lounging in bed for as long as I possibly could without feeling too guilty, I mustered enough energy up to move to the pool and cozy up in one of those trendy, baby pram looking sun couches.

In between refreshing laps in the eternity pool I would whale watch (saw 3 – all white – tres cool), read, nap, eat fruit and then…start over again. Sorry, this is not a tale of me climbing tall mountains or exploring tropical jungles. This is a tale of Heather’s perfect Sunday.

By mid-afternoon however my stomach would begin to demand more than fresh fruit, coffee and champagne. So, wrapped in a sarong and a smile off I would go to find lunch. Uluwata is about 20 minutes away from Seminyak and the other areas of “downtown” Bali. The beaches are lined with fabulous local restaurants all serving up the freshest treasures from the sea. Chilled watermelon or cucumber soups became a staple as well as the fresh shellfish.

Nasi garang is the national dish and to me was not terribly exciting as a dish in its traditional preparation. However I did have an amazing version of it at the Bulgari restaurant (in Uluwatu). They served it with lots of lime, fresh shrimp and a wonderful sort of Thai peanut sauce. The ceviche there was memorable as well. To wash it down there was the most addictive lemongrass mojito. I had so many there, they may have renamed it in my honor after I left 🙂

So, here in Austin, on a hot lazy Sunday afternoon, I am dreaming of faraway Bali. As a fix for my deep longing I am making Panko crusted shrimp with a peanut dipping sauce. Not exactly Indonesian fare, but then again I found Indonesian food to be influenced by all parts of Asia. I am going to mix up a batch of those delicious lemongrass mojitos to go with my shrimp and then I am going to take a leisurely nap and dream of well you know…Bali.

Recipes are on page 133 of the book! You do have a copy by now, right?  😉

Leave a Reply

