Haute n the Kitchen

Entertaining Inspired by my Travels & Traditions


I watched a cute chick flick today called “Waitress”. Its alot about life, love, passion and PIE. It is a quiet story where not much actually happens but the actors are convincing, the directing is strong and the long pauses actually work.
My favorite part of the movie though was the main character’s comparisons of life to pie. For every emotion she had, she had a pie recipe that would address the emotional need. Some were sexy, some full of vengence, some happy, some sad, some ironic. I like this.
Its like the movie “Like Water for Chocolate” where the emotions just pour into the food and those partaking are the “victims” of the emotion.
Anyway, check it out if you like pie or chick flicks. Nonetheless, it inspired me to make a pie.
Now, the interesting part of this blog. I am not a pie maker. I have never made a pie. Serious. Never.
How can a girl grow up in North Carolina and never make a pie?
Even crazier is that my favorite dessert of all time is apple pie ala mode. But I am not a pie maker.
My grandmothers and mother all made pies. Not me.
I don’t really have a good reason other than it just never occured to me until “Waitress”. Now I want a pie shop. Just pies. All pies. Savory, sweet, spicy, tangy – not so much on the sour right?
So…here goes nothing. My first pie. I am calling it “Fresh Start Pie”.
You see all the pies in the movie had clever names depending on the mood, emotion or moment.
January to me is a wonderful time for a fresh start. Maybe in career, maybe in love, maybe in fashion sense or maybe just in attitude.
Here is my FRESH START PIE
1 Pie Crust – pull out Nonna’s secret recipe or make friends with Mrs. Swansons.
1 Pint – White Rasberries
2 – Bananas, ripe
1 1/2 tsp. Unflavored Gelatin
3 Tbsp. Boiling Water
1/3 Cup Sugar
3 Tbsp. All Purpose Flour
1 Tsp. Vanilla Extract
2 Egg Yolks
1 1/2 cups lowfat milk
6 Oz. white chocolate, high quality – melted
2 Cups Whipping Cream

In a small bowl pour the boiling water over the gelatin and stir until it disolves. In a small saucepan add sugar and flour. In another bowl beat egg yolks and milk together, then add to the sugar and flour pan. Over low heat stir mixture for 10 minutes until everything has blended and is thickening. Add the melted chocolate and the vanilla and stir well.
In a bowl mash the rasberries and the banana together to an almost pasty mixture. Pour into the bottom of the pie crust. Then pour the chocolate mixture over the fruit.
Place pie in refrigerator to “set” for about 3 hours.
Whip up some fresh cream and enjoy your fresh start pie with a friend.

Categories: Eat

Leave a Reply

